Monster laser

Show off your CNC projects here!
Imtippmann

Monster laser

Post by Imtippmann »

This is the start of my next laser. I will be transplanting the tube and psu from a k40 into a custom gantry. Motion control will be run through a GRBLDuino Mega Integrated Relay running GRBL running in CoreXY mode. Exhaust fans will be tied to the mist relay and air assist to the coolant relay.

The last photo is why you cant trust hole positions on cheap parts.ImageImageImage

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

icarus525

Re: Monster laser

Post by icarus525 »

I would designate that last part as a reject and replace it.
Imtippmann

Post by Imtippmann »

That's exactly what I did. Well, I had 8 but only intend to use 4-6 so I had spares. Im a machinist, so it was just a surprise when I had made the mating bracket on a mill accurate to 0.001" but the block was off by nearly a quarter inch. It took longer than I care to admit to notice that it was a factory defect and not my fault. I should have drank more coffee apparently

icarus525

Post by icarus525 »

That really is pretty big. How large will your work area be? I'm eyeballing it at about a meter.
Imtippmann

Post by Imtippmann »

Good eye, it will be about 38x38 inch of workspace which is in fact about 950mm

Imtippmann

Post by Imtippmann »

Made some progress today. I got the mounting holes for the Y rails drilled (18 per rail). Once the rails were installed I was able to measure, cut and weld the rest of the gantry frame. Parallelism is better than I had hoped for, so shimmying is unnecessary. Tipping the gantry more than about half an inch on any direction results in the gantry freewheeling to the low side.

Up next is designing motor mounts, pulley mounts and belt tensioner pulley mounts.ImageImage

Imtippmann

Post by Imtippmann »